Some Preliminary Thoughts on Chiyoko Szlavnics' Music - Archive ouverte HAL Access content directly
Journal Articles Πολυφωνία Year : 2015

Some Preliminary Thoughts on Chiyoko Szlavnics' Music


Listening to Chiyoko Szlavnics' music opens up broad questions having to do with music, aesthetics, and human existence. The Canadian composer achieves significant depth in dealing with these questions in a variety of works, including chamber-orchestra music—Heliotrope (2007); pieces with electronics—Constellations I–III for piano and sine waves (2011); chamber music, such as the recordings collected here; and multichannel sound installations. Her compositions also vary widely in duration, ranging from short pieces, such as the five-minute-long chamber-orchestra piece Wind in the Ceiling (2004–2005), to longer ones, such as the forty-five-minute Interior Landscapes II A for sine waves (2010).
Fichier principal
Vignette du fichier
_Preliminary_15.pdf (114.39 Ko) Télécharger le fichier
Origin : Files produced by the author(s)

Dates and versions

hal-01202895 , version 1 (21-09-2015)


  • HAL Id : hal-01202895 , version 1


Makis Solomos. Some Preliminary Thoughts on Chiyoko Szlavnics' Music. Πολυφωνία, 2015, n°23. ⟨hal-01202895⟩
100 View
128 Download


Gmail Facebook X LinkedIn More