index - ASCoMS : Workshop on Architecting Safety in Collaborative Mobile Systems Access content directly

ASCoMS 2013: 2nd Workshop on Architecting

Safety in Collaborative Mobile Systems



This volume contains the papers presented at ASCoMS 2013: the 2nd Workshop on Architecting Safety in Collaborative Mobile Systems held on September 25, 2013 in Toulouse as part of SAFECOMP Conference 2013. This is the second year for this workshop, and as in previous year, the workshop is held with SAFECOMP.

ASCoMS 2013 focuses on fundamental challenges in ensuring that safety requirements are satisfied despite the increased system complexity and the uncertainties introduced by the operation in open and not well defined environments. In particular, the aim is to deal with temporal uncertainties that may affect the environment perception as well as the coordination of mobile entities. Often the problems are equated in terms of achieving functional safety. Broadly speaking, ASCoMS 2013 papers consider the challenge of adapting the system to different performance levels as needed to ensure safety according to the existing operational conditions, e.g., system and environment state. They consider some minimal level of performance that is always used to ensure that safety can be achieved, which should be reected on the architectural design. The papers also consider related issues from an application and the network perspective, such as cooperation, reliability, model development and security.

The program comprises five regular papers and nine invited papers promising comprehensive discussions sounding out the scope (or important aspects) of ASCoMS 2013. We believe the workshop program provides a good basis for future research initiatives. The organization of this workshop was partially supported by the EC, through project FP7-STREP-288195, KARYON (Kernel-based ARchitecture for safetY-critical cONtrol).


June 28, 2013

Goeteborg                                                                   Lönn Henrik and Elad Michael Schiller


Program Committee


Andreas Abele, Robert Bosch GmbH, Germany

Luis Almeida University, of Porto, Portugal

Andrea Bondavalli, University of Firenze, Italy

Antonio Casimiro, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Bertrand Ducourthial, Université de Technologie de Compiègne, France

Karl Goeschka, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Teruo Higashino, Osaka University, Japan

Rolf Johansson, SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden

Jörg Kaiser, Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany

Vana Kalogeraki, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece

Johan Karlsson, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Marc-Olivier Killijian, Laboratory for Analysis and Architecture of Systems, France

Pierre Leone, Geneva University, Switzerland

Henrik Lönn, Volvo Group Trucks Technology, Sweden

Edgar Nett, Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany

Marina Papatriantafilou, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Johannessen Per, Volvo Group Trucks Technology, Sweden

Carlos Eduardo Pereira, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil

Elad Michael Schiller, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Martin Törngren, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

Stefan Voget, Continental Automotive, Sweden



Additional Reviewers


Jonsson Erland

Landsiedel Olaf

Larsson Andreas

Marques Lus

Olovsson Tomas

Rufino Jos

Steup Christoph